Changes in Volunteer Leadership, October 2012

The Trusteesof the Adirondack Community Trust (ACT) oversee the stewardship of more than 210 charitable funds established by individuals and nonprofits for the benefit of Adirondack communities. In the fiscal year that ended June 2012, ACT made grants totaling $2.4 million.

Adele Connors of Lake Placid is stepping down as ACT's co-chair after a full nine-year term of distinguished and enlightened service. On October 26, she was recognized for her leadership by the full board of trustees. John Ernst of North Hudson and New York City becomes co-chair with Vinny McClelland of Keene, whose service in that position continues.

Michael Ellis, the founder of the Community Fund for the Gore Mountain Region, also departs from the ACT board with thanks for his service.

ACT welcomes five new Trustees and one new Advisory Council member.

Barbara Glaser of Raquette Lake and Saratoga Springs is president of the Nordlys Foundation and of Linell Lands, Inc. She serves on the board of directors of the Saratoga Institute and the Community Hospice for the Greater Capital Region. She is the founder of the Open Space Project, now Saratoga PLAN, and an Emeritus Trustee Great Camp Sagamore.

Rich Kroes of Lake Placid is Director of Product Strategy with Oracle Corporation and the former Director of Finance and Information Technology at the Crowne Plaza Resort and Golf Club. He is a coach and committee member with the Lake Placid Youth Athletic Association and Tri-Lakes Youth Lacrosse.

Catherine Johnston of Lake Placid is co-owner of Ruthie's Run. Her board service includes Lake Placid Center for the Arts, Lake Placid Business Association, Lake Placid Horse Show, and the Lake Placid Education Foundation. She is a past member of the Lake Placid Central School Board.

David Mason of Keene is a retired partner of a strategic planning consulting firm. He conducted the Adirondack Futures workshops with Jim Herman for the Common Ground Alliance. Dave and Jim led the Keene Broadband Project of High Peaks Education Foundation. Dave is vice president of the Keene Community Trust.

Susan A. Waters of Saranac Lake and Westport is a director of Adirondack Community Housing Trust. She was a Village of Saranac Lake Trustee and served as president of Adirondack Habitat for Humanity as well as executive director for both Lake Placid Institute and Homeward Bound Adirondacks.

Tim Barnett of Westport and Saratoga Springs has joined ACT's Advisory Board. He is the retired executive director of the Adirondack Chapter of The Nature Conservancy and Adirondack Land Trust and is a vice president of The Nature Conservancy. He is a board member of the Wild Center.

For more information, contact Cali Brooks, Executive Director, 523-9904,,